Workers Health & Safety Centre

Members Login

JHSC Certification training: you can't afford to get it wrong

JHSCs play a vital role in evaluating hazards that may cause injuries, illness or death in the workplace,
Did you know most Ontario workplaces employing 20 or more workers OR using a designated substance must have a joint health and safety committee (JHSC)?

JHSCs play a vital role in evaluating hazards that may cause injuries, illness or death in the workplace, which is why quality training is essential and why you can’t afford to get it wrong.

Members of the committee participate in the development and implementation of workplace policies and programs to protect workers’ health and safety. By law, the Occupational Health and Safety Act requires two members of a JHSC – one worker and one management – complete Part 1 and 2 of an approved Ministry of Labour’s Chief Prevention Officer (CPO) Certification training program in order to become certified. (And then to remain certified they must successfully complete Certification Refresher training every three years.) Though, many workplaces elect to train their entire committee to build the in-house capability and human resource capacity they need to help identify and control all hazards.

JHSC Certification Training
As Ontario’s official occupational health and safety training centre for more than 35 years, Workers Health & Safety Centre is a CPO approved training provider and a leader in Certification training. We meet and exceed legal requirements.

And for French speaking training participants we’ve got you covered too with our Certification Part 1 training now offered in French.

About our programs

WHSC Certification Part 1 training is scheduled in online instructor-led virtual classrooms. Delivered over a three-day period, this program gives participants a complete understanding of occupational health and safety legislation, including rights and responsibilities of workplace parties and certified representatives on JHSCs in particular. This will include a full discussion about the Internal Responsibility System (IRS) and the purpose and requirements of workplace health and safety policies and programs. Equally important, participants learn how to identify, assess and control, or better yet eliminate, workplace hazards.

Part 2 of the certification process must be completed within one year of Part 1 and must include training in a minimum of six hazards relevant to the participants’ workplace. WHSC offers a complete catalogue of hazard training modules for a customized onsite approach. To get into compliance quickly though, many register for our ‘General’ program covering the six most common hazards in workplaces. Scheduled in virtual classrooms as well, this training is delivered in over two days.

Our one-day Certification Refresher program is also available in scheduled virtual classrooms.

Why our virtual learning environment is unique and effective?
  • Live online learning on a secure Zoom platform
  • Highly qualified instructors with considerable real-world experience
  • Small class sizes designed for maximum engagement
  • Proven class activities for assured learning.

Need more information?
Additional resource: Certification Training: The Process
Additional training: Check out all WHSC programs
Contact a WHSC training services representative in your area.
Connect with and follow us on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and YouTube.